Mary Matha Church, Sakinaka

In 1988 Fr. Thomas Harry Alappat (CMI) was appointed as the first Parish Priest of Sakinaka parish. To coordinate the works in the parish an adhoc committee was formed in 1988. Every Saturday at 7.30 Holy Qurbana was celebrated in St. Anthony Church (Latin Church) in Sakinaka. Then Fr. K.T. James followed as the next Parish Priest. In 1991, under the leadership of Fr. Jose Vallankott for easy administration the parish was divided into 12 units with the names of different saints. Later an office was formed buying 3 rooms in the name of Mariyam Welfare Centre. Then this office wasrenovated by Msgr. Thomas Talachira and named as Krupa-Matha Centre. In 1992 Fr. Jose Odanatt took charge as the Asst. Parish Priest of the church. In 1993 Fr.Mathew Muthasseril MST then took charge as the Parish Priest. In 1995 Fr. Paul Kalarickal VC was appointed as the Parish Priest.

In 1997 Fr. George Vadakethala became the Parish Priest and along with him Fr. Sebastian Vadakumpadam served the parish as asst. Parish Priest for 2 months and after him Fr. Jose Kokkapuzha served as Asst Parish Priest.

In 1998, Rev.Fr. Jacob Porathur was appointed as the Parish Priest and Fr. Benny Thanninilkumthadathil was the Asst Parish Priest. In the land bought for the church construction a temporary shed was erected for celebrating Qurbana. After few months Fr. Cyriac Kumbattu was appointed as asst. Parish priest. In 2003, Fr. Rajesh Mathew was appointed as the parish priest. On 27th May 2004 the foundation stone for the church was laid. The Church was consecrated on 27th Nov 2004 by Mar Thomas Elavanal and named it as Mary Matha Church.

In 2005, Fr. Xavier Kannat took charge as the Parish Priest. During the tenure of Fr. Xavier Kannatt, Mary Matha Church was erected to the status of parish. In 2007, Fr. Xavier Kadaplackal MST took charge as the Parish Priest.

In 2009 Fr. Bobby Mulakampilly took charge as Parish Priest. And during his time a fund raising programme was conducted for heart operation to below 15 years old children known as cure heart project. In 2010 Fr. Aneesh Thomas Kattakayam from the diocese of Thalaserry was appointed as the parish priest. After that in May, 2013 Fr. Davis Chalissery was appointed as the parish priest. It is with great privilege that the parish sees the service rendered by the sisters of the Clelia Nikethanconvent. All associations are active in the parish.

Name of the Priests served the Parish are Rev. Fr.Thomas Harry Alappatt CMI, Rev Fr. K T Thomas OFM, Rev. Fr. Jose Vallavankott, Rev. Fr. Thomas Thalachira, Rev. Fr. Jose Odanattu, Rev. Fr. Mathew Moothassery MST, Rev. Fr. Paul Kalarickal VC, Rev. Fr. George Vadakkethala, Rev. Fr. Sebastian Vadakkumpadan, Rev. Fr. Jose Kokkopuzha, Rev. Fr. Jacob Porathur, Rev. Fr. Benny Thanninilkumthadathil, Rev. Fr. Cyriac Kumbatt, Rev. Fr. Rajesh Mathew, Rev. Fr. Xavier Kanatt, Rev. Fr. Xavier Kadaplackal, Rev. Fr. Bobby Mulackampilly, Rev. Fr. Anish Thomas Kattakayathil, Rev. Fr. Davis Chalisserry. At present Rev. Fr. Zacharias Neelankavil is the parish priest.


Forane: Kalina

Status: Parish

Parish Priest: Fr. Davis Chalissery

Establishment of Parish Community: 1988

Official Erection as a Parish: 23/04/2006

Date of the Consecration of the Church: 27/12/2004

Area of the Church Property:

No. of Family’s: 225

No. of Family Units: 12

Address: Sakinaka, Near Ram Leela Maidan, Kherani Road, Jose Nagar, Mumbai 400072

Phone No.: 28518751

How to reach:


Holy Qurbana:

Weekdays Qurbana:

Name of the Religious Congregation & Province: LSMS

Type of the Institutions at parish territory: Clelia Dispensary & Clelia Tiny Tots (Run By LSMS Sisters)


Email id:



Know More