Mother of Jesus Church, Anto phill

Keeping in view of the tradition, the cultural heritage and ritual of the Syro Malabar Church in 1977, Fr. James Manjackal had offered the first Malayalam Syro-Malabar Qurbana in the church. Later in 1979 Fr. Joseph Nagaroor, the then Malayalee Chaplain deputed from Changanacherry Diocese took over as the spiritual head of the church. Thereafter all the Malayalee chaplains and other priests from the local churches have rendered their services for the spiritual and pastoral needs of the faithful. To mention a few, there were Fr. Mathew Thalanani, Fr. Primus, Fr. Celsius, Fr. Bruno, Fr. Sebastian Thuruthel, Fr. Jacob Porathur, Fr. George Vadakkethala, Fr. Philip and Fr. George Edakalathur. For the smooth going of the church activities, a committee consisting of a group of dedicated laymen was also in action. Mr. Paul Kariyattil and Mr. K.S. Itiyavira were the first presidents of this committee.

In 1988, when the Kalyan diocese was inaugurated, the church was handed over to the diocese and became the first independent church of the diocese under the pastoral care of the first bishop Mar Paul Chittilappilly. Fr. Jose Thannipara was the first Vicar of the Church. Family units were formed and regular family prayer meetings were held during the tenure of Fr. Honorious OFM. In 1993, Fr. Thomas Kochuparambil took over as the Parish Priest of the church and the church was renovated and was given a new face lift. The new church building was consecrated and blessed by Mar Paul Chittilapilly on 24th Dec 1995.

It is indeed an important event to be remembered with joy and satisfaction, when one considers the tremendous progress that took place during the last 25 years of the church’s existence, both in its spiritual as well as in its physical aspects. Syro – Malabar Catholic Community of the Antop Hill parish was proud and happy to celebrate its Silver Jubilee in a grand manner in December 1999. Besides looking after the spiritual needs of the parishioners and conducting the regular liturgical services, the church extends its charitable and humanitarian services to the needy and poor people of this locality. Our present parish priest is Fr. Antony Thekkiniyath OFM Cap. The priests who served in our parish are the following: Fr. Jose Thannipara, Fr. Paul Madan, Fr. Honorious OFM Cap. Asst. Vicars: Fr. Cyriac Chandrankunnel, Fr. Honorious OFM Cap, Fr. Thomas Kochuparampil, Fr. Thomas Kochuparambil, Fr. James Kudilil, Fr. Joy Punnakuzhy, Fr. George Thuppalanjiyil, Fr. Jose Kokkopuzha, Fr. Davis Tharakan, Fr. Boby Mulakkampillil, Fr. Xavier Kadaplackkal, Fr. Pravin Aranjani Olickal, Fr. Abraham Kollithadam MST and Fr. Joseph Kususmalayam..


Forane: Antophill

Status: Forane Parish

Parish Priest: Fr. Antony Thekkiniyath OFM Cap.

Establishment of Parish Community: 29/10/1974

Official Erection as a Parish: 14/08/2005

Date of the Consecration of the Church: 24/12/1995

Area of the Church Property: 1000 sq. ft. approximately

No. of Familys: 74

No. of Family Units: 5

Address: Near to Sector 5, S. M. Road,Antop Hill, Mumbai

Phone No.: 022-24024683

How to reach:


Holy Qurbana: Sun. 8.45 am & 6.00 pm at Mother of Jesus Church, Antophill

Weekdays Qurbana: 7.15 pm at Mother of Jesus Church, Antophill

Name of the Religious Congregation & Province: Nil

Type of the Institutions at parish territory : Mariyan Nursery(Run by Parish)


Email id: [email protected]



Know More