Mother of Victory Church, Tikujiniwadi

Initially the Syro-Malabar Catholics who migrated from Kerala and settled in and around Thane depended on the local Latin churches viz. St. John The Baptist Church, Thane and Our Lady of Mercy Church, Vartak Nagar for their spiritual needs. In the sixties, Kerala Catholic Association brought Malayalee Catholics belonging to all the three Rites together.

In 1987, Rev Fr. George Edakkalathur co-ordinated the Syro-Malabar faithful in Majiwada and Manpada and started prayers and Holy Qurbana in these two family centres. After the inauguration of the Eparchy of Kalyan in 1988, several priests viz. Fr. Thomas Kalapura, Fr. Vincent Parayil, Fr. Jacob Edakalathur, Fr. Johnson Olakkengil, Fr. Thomas Choondal and Fr. Paul Pulikottil were appointed to cater to the spiritual needs of the faithful and their untiring efforts further nurtured and nourished these two centres.

By the year 2001, to meet the needs of the growing population of the faithful spread across several locations, the members of Majiwada and Manpada Centres felt the need to come together and form a common parish. Under the leadership of Priest incharge Fr. George Porathur and with the support of Asst. Priest Fr. Justin Kallely, 120 families of Majiwada and Manpada decided to establish a common parish called Bl. Kuriakose Elias Chavara Parish and the search for a suitable site began. In 2002 Fr. Rajesh Mathew took charge as Asst. Priest and his tenacious efforts, ably supported by the Trustees, and the Committee Members found fruit when Bl. Kuriakose Elias Chavara Community Centre was blessed at Tikujiniwadi, on 22nd December 2002. On 2nd February 2003, the statue of Mother of Victory, brought from the famous pilgrim centre at Wigratgbad, in the Diocese of Augsburg, Germany, was unveiled in the church by Mar Thomas Elavanal. His Excellency also declared the church as the Marian Pilgrim Centre of the Diocese of Kalyan and elevated the church as Mother of Victory Shrine. Fr. Rajesh Mathew was appointed as the first Rector of the Shrine. The Shrine was elevated as a parish in September 2007. The priests who served in Tikujiniwadi parish are the following: Rev. Fr. George Porathur, Fr. Rajesh Mathew, Fr. Justin Kallely, Fr. Kuriakose Kalaparampath, Fr. Sunny Perumpuzha and Fr. Paul Olickal. At present Fr. Biju Kollamkunnel is the rector of the Shrine from 09th February 2017.


Forane: Thane

Status: Forane Parish

Parish Priest: Fr. Biju Kollamkunnel

Establishment of Parish Community: 1988

Official Erection as a Parish: 04/11/2005

Date of the Consecration of the Church: 22/12/2002

Area of the Church Property: 5200 (covered) + 1800 (open) (in Sq. ft)

No. of Family’s: 317

No. of Family Units: 19

Address: A1/A2, 27 Acre Kothari Compound, Tikujiniwadi, Apna Bazaar P.O., Thane (W) 400610

Phone No.: 022-25890084

How to reach:


Holy Qurbana: Sun 7.30 am, 9.00 am & 6.30 pm at Mother of Victory Church, Tikujiniwadi

Weekdays Qurbana: 7.00 pm at Mother of Victory Church, Tikujiniwadi

Name of the Religious Congregation & Province: CMC, Thrissur Province

Type of the Institutions at parish territory: Eparchial Shrine


Email id:



Know More